David Trippe Trophy & SWDCS 1


A cold Southeasterly wind greeted the twenty skippers who contested the first of the South West District Championship series. With the wind from this direction there was always going to be trouble at the windward mark. There was no way skippers could walk on water to view the mark. One or two skippers seemed to have trouble obeying the Port and Starboard rule – Nick Martin was ‘taken out’ in two races by Port tack boats at the windward mark, which just sailed straight into him. They may have completed their penalty turns but ruined a good result for Nick who went home in disgust.

David Trippe 2013

David Trippe 2013







Simon Clark of West Cornwall put his stamp on winning the trophy with a score of just twelve by lunchtime. John White of Bideford and Richard Aucott together with Bob Conner for the home side put on a good performance but were unable to reel in Simon.

It was pleasing to see Matthew Johns, a young teenage skipper from West Cornwall finish in twelfth place and who also competed in the recent National IOM Ranking event at Woodspring.

Pos Skipper No Club
1 Simon Clark 95 West Cornwall
2 John White 9 Bideford
3 Richard Aucott 78 Woodspring
4 Bob Conner 14 Woodspring
5 Peter Cropper 68 West Cornwall
6 Mike Cooper 150 Woodspring
7 Doug Penman 12 Bideford
8 Mike Hounsell 60 Woodspring
9 Mark Pressdee 35 Bideford
10 Alan Perham 155 West Cornwall
11 Pete Ferguson 44 Yeovil
12 Matthew Johns 75 West Cornwall
13 Sarah Conner 69 Woodspring
14 Neil Surman 50 Woodspring
15 Bill Curtis 46 West Cornwall
16 John Bewick 56 Woodspring
17 George Evans 27 Bideford
18 Brian Lewarne 23 Bideford
19 Nick Martin 2 Woodspring
20 Bob Lewis 41 Woodspring

© Copyright 2021. The Model Yachting Association UK | Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?