skip to Main Content

2018 Eastern District Marblehead Championship – Report and Results

2018 Eastern District Championship  Sunday 7th October   Whitlingham Park, Norwich MYC

Norwich MYC hosted ten skippers for the ED Marblehead Championship, including visitors from Broads, Canbridge, Datchet and Southminster. Conditions were almost perfect with warm weather and a light North Westerly breeze which at times deserted the fleet, requiring the Race Officer to shorten a small number of races to a single lap, fortunately all weed has now disappeared requiring skippers to use all their light weather skills without any help or hindrance from weed!

A full schedue of 16 races (enabling 3 discards) were completed in a friendly manner with all skippers obeying contact calls and completing their penalty turns. The Race Officer was kept busy ensuring the really keen skippers at the start were caught and recalled!

The final result saw Phil Holiday with his beautifully turned out and excellently sailed  marblehead gain a commanding lead by lunchtime that was never really challenged. A relative newcomer to marblehead sailing Ian Self from the home club sailed into a well deserved 2nd place helped by keeping out of trouble.

A full result list is shown below:


1st        Phil Holiday                Datchet Water             19 points

2nd       Ian Self                       Norwich MYC            50 points

3rd        David Perkins             Cambridge                  64 points

4th        Vinnie Zammit            Norwich MYC            68 points

5th        Terry Burton               Broads RYC                69 points

6th        Robert Owen               Norwich MYC            70 points

7th        Alf Reynolds               Southminster               73 points

8th        Eric Curtis                   Norwich MYC            78 points

9th        Graham Nelson           Norwich MYC            92 points

10th      Michael Howard         Broads RYC                110 points

Alan Bright

Race Officer


Full Race Results click here:  2018-ED-Marblehead-Championship




Back To Top
×Close search