skip to Main Content


Both Midland District Champion Skipper series were created to encourage inter district sailing, help and encourage the club sailor and event management teams.

The series need to be run to a common format, and so they are organised in accordance with the series Deed of Gift, the current version of the MYA Sailing Instructions, the Racing Rules of Sailing and the RYA Racing Charter.


IOMMDWCS D of G rev 4

Series Trustee Gordon Sears.

MDCS Roll of Honour

You can only represent ONE Midland District club during any calendar year series, and this would normally be the club you are registered with on the current MYA membership database.

IOM MDCS & C a short history.

In the early 1990’s the new IOM radio sailing class was beginning to be popular with the Midland District clubs and so Gordon Sears proposed that we create a district based series to promote inter club sailing, to develop both the club sailor and race officials in a friendly competitive environment.

The first season was summer 1992 with 4 events scheduled and skippers from Market Bosworth RYC, Leicestershire RYC, Staffs & Cheshire RYC, Banbury Cross RYC & Sneyd RYC all scoring points for both the individual and club shields.

By 1993 we had 36 different skippers representing 6 clubs participating, the numbers continued to grow through 94 and 95 so by 1996 we had scheduled 6 rounds, both Bournville Model Yacht & Power Boat Club and Birmingham MYC joining the host club list.

After the 1996 season we revisited the original Deed of Gift to reflect the change in the race results scoring system to the new percentage version as used in the MYA Radio League.

By 2000 we had 44 skippers from 7 clubs competing over 6 rounds and for the first time the results were being posted on the Market Bosworth RYC web site for all to see.

Unfortunately the event scheduled for 2001 at Staffs & Cheshire had to be cancelled due to the council lowering the water level and vandals smashing up the launching platform, on the positive side we welcomed Watermead RYC into the championship, quickly followed by Two Islands RYC in 2002.

Unfortunately we had lost a couple of the original host clubs such as Banbury and Sneyd but with the inclusion of Burton on Trent, Watermead and Two Islands offering to host rounds we were easily able to run 6 rounds for 37 different skippers.

Manor Park sailing club joined us in 2007 picking up the IOM sailors from Burton on Trent as their water was becoming difficult for IOM sailing.

In September 2009 we revisited the Deed of Gift to reflect the roll of the ARO as along with the PRO we needed to recognise their participation in the running of these events. Host clubs race teams have been supported with event training and race support which has bought up the overall standard in the district to the benefit of all competitors.

Paul Stubbs (Manor Park SC) became the district secretary in 2010 also taking over the administration of the series, posting and developing with Darin Ballington a fantastic district web site that became the home for all the IOMMDCS & C calendar and results.

When Paul stood down from the district secretary roll, both Chris Harris and Laurie Brown took over compiling the event results and these having been posted on the district web site.

At the end of the 2016 summer series the skippers decided that it would be sensible to review the IOMMDCS & C series and create a web site dedicated to promoting this into the 25th year.

Back To Top