skip to Main Content

John Sharman’s DF95 wins on count back from Dave Burke at day 1 of the Fleetwood Twixmas Regatta

In the end, 20 sailors registered for the first day of the Twixmas event
at Fleetwood Model Yacht and Power Boat Club.  After a short briefing by
Derek Priestley, racing got under way shortly after 10:00 under the
watchful eye of Bob Jolly as RO assisted by scorer Judith Baldwin.

The fleet raced as one on a course with two beats at a slightly
different angle to try and make the best of the shifty 5 to 10 knot
breeze.  Dave Burke was quick out of the blocks to win Race 1.  Derek
took wins in Races 2 and 3, with Dave then picking up Race 4.

This was followed by a short break for mulled wine and hot mince pies
and then resumed with Race 5 where it was the turn of Mick Chamberlain
to take the win, followed by Jen Hand picking up Races 6 and 7 by a good
margin from the rest of the field.  The final race (number 8) before
lunch provided yet another winner in the form of John Sharman.

After a quick break for lunch, John again showed the fleet a clean pair
of heels to win Race 9.  Race 10 then provided another new winner in the
form of Chris Chatfield, followed by the first win for Peter Baldwin in
Race 11.  Derek picked up Race 12 from Peter right on the finish line,
The final race which may have been unlucky for some was won by Peter as
a small compensation for narrowly missing out on Race 12.

When the final scores were added up, only one point separated the top
three, with John Sharman (Keighley) taking the win on countback from
Dave Burke (Lincoln) and Peter Baldwin (Birkenhead) in third just one
point behind them.

Back To Top