skip to Main Content

Ripon SC host round 3 of the MYA Northern District IOM Winter Series

Ripon SC hosted round 3 of the MYA Northern District IOM Winter Series on
Saturday 5th January with 20 entrants all keen to have a good days racing.
The wind gods were kind to us by providing a breeze that saw all the yachts
start race one in top suit which was the order of the day for most until
after the lunch break when one or two moved down to their No2 rig only to be
disappointed as the breeze faded leaving them struggling to keep up in the
final races of the afternoon.
The RO Team of Norman Rowley and Kevin Vials managed to keep the fleet under
control to fit 11 races in over the day, around a windward leeward course
that had its fair share on wind shifts to keep the helms concentrating.

Life at the front of the fleet saw the usual suspects of, John Tushingham,
Derek Priestley, Neil Thornton and Simon Robinson managing to keep clear of
the chasing fleet in most races but there were a few others who showed that
taking a chance sometimes paid off to take them into the leading group

As usual the results don’t show just how close the racing was across the
fleet, what they do show is how consistent  John Tushingham is and how well
he sailed all day to take a well deserved victory.

Thanks to all the entrants who took the time to join us for what we hope
will become a regular venue on the ND IOM Winter series.


Overall Results:

Pos Sail No Helm Club R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 R8 R9 R10 R11 Pts
1st 51 John Tushingham Keighley 1 1 1 3 1 1 1 3 1 ‑5 ‑4 13
2nd 66 Neil Thornton Scarborough 2 3 ‑6 1 5 4 2 ‑7 6 1 3 27
3rd 67 Derek Prestly Fleetwood 3 2 3 2 (DNC) 6 ‑15 2 4 3 2 27
4th 73 Simon Robinson Killingworth 4 ‑7 7 5 2 3 ‑8 4 2 2 1 30
5th 5 Roger Errington Killingworth 5 5 2 ‑8 4 7 3 ‑15 3 4 6 39
6th 101 Damian Ackroyd Leeds & Bradford 7 9 ‑10 ‑12 3 10 5 5 8 7 8 62
7th 9 Chris Moore Ripon 6 6 9 6 6 (DNC) 6 ‑14 9 9 5 62
8th 13 Geoff Killingworth ‑17 10 8 ‑14 11 2 10 6 11 8 9 75
9th 112 John Berry Etherow 8 11 4 9 8 12 (DNC) 1 12 ‑14 14 79
10th 35 Philip Read Askern 10 8 ‑14 ‑19 9 5 9 11 10 6 11 79
11th 135 Dave Darwell Askern 11 14 (DNC) 7 ‑16 16 4 8 7 11 10 88
12th 110 Peter Cogill Rotherham 13 12 11 11 ‑15 (DNC) 7 10 14 13 13 104
13th 95 Garry Parkin Scarborough 15 (DNF) 13 ‑16 14 14 12 13 5 12 12 110
14th 87 Geoff Farrar Rotherham 9 4 5 4 (DNC) (DNC) DNC 9 DNC DNC DNC 115
15th 40 Ian Smith Ripon 18 (DNF) (DNF) 13 12 15 DNC 12 13 10 7 121
16th 106 Chris Wright Ripon 12 15 15 18 10 11 13 16 (DNC) (DNC) DNC 131
17th 7 Bert Down Ripon 16 (DNF) 12 15 7 9 11 (DNC) DNC DNC DNC 133
18th 63 Tony Short Ripon/Askern 14 13 16 20 (DNC) 8 14 17 (DNC) DNC DNC 144
19th 55 Paul Rudkin Askern (DNF) 16 17 17 13 13 (DNC) DNC DNC DNC DNC 160
20th 185 Dave Winder Keighley (DNS) (DNS) DNF 10 DNS DNC DNC DNC DNC DNC DNC 178
read more

IOM Twixmas Regatta at Fleetwood including the presentation of the 2019 MYA Chris Dicks Award to Dave Hollom

For day 2 of the Twixmas Regatta at Fleetwood it was the turn of the IOM fleet.  The forecast was for 9 knots from the S or SSE, but unfortunately it was mostly 3 to 5 knots with some large shifts although predominantly straight across the lake.  The course consisted of a long fetch/close reach from the clubhouse to the first mark and spreader and then four reaches and beats across the lake finishing in a close reach to the finish at the clubhouse end.

After a presentation of the MYA Chris Dicks Award to this years winner Dave Hollom and a short briefing, racing got underway promptly at 10:00. With a total of 23 boats finally registering on the morning, the fleet was split into two seeding heats to try and avoid congestion at the first mark with the wind direction.  Mick Chamberlain (Sedici) and Rob Walsh (Britpop) won the two seeding races, with both of them establishing a useful lead at the first mark and then extending this as the race progressed. Race 2 was won by Rob, with Mick second and James Hadden (Alternative) third, a boat self built this year and on its first open event airing.  Race 3 was taken by Derek Priestley (Dead Reckoning), with Dave Hollom (Dead Reckoning) second and John Sharman (Vision) in third.  There was then a short break for mince pies and mulled wine (or tea/coffee), before a heat reschedule and racing re-started.  Race 4 was again won by Derek, with Rob second and John Berry (Viper) third.  In Race 5, it was another win for Mick, with Dave Darwell (Moster) second  and James third.

After lunch, Rob must have been suitably refreshed as the afternoon belonged to him, with a win in Race 6, James in second and Dave Darwell third.  He followed it up with another win in Race 7 and a second for John and third for James.  With the light still being good, a final race 8 was run which provided two discards for the fleet.  This was once again won by Rob with Shaun Priestley (In-Transition) second and Derek in third.

This ended a good but tricky days sailing with the podium ending up as Rob in first, with James having a consistent day placing second and Mick in third.

A separate prize was awarded to the person who was best placed over the two days of racing and this was won by John Sharman on 5 points, with Mick Chamberlain second on 9 points, Derek Priestley third with 10 points and Peter Baldwin fourth with 11 points.

Thanks must go to Bob Jolly and Judith Baldwin for running the racing and scoring over the two days of racing together with Maureen and Elaine in the galley keeping everyone fed and watered.


read more

John Sharman’s DF95 wins on count back from Dave Burke at day 1 of the Fleetwood Twixmas Regatta

In the end, 20 sailors registered for the first day of the Twixmas event
at Fleetwood Model Yacht and Power Boat Club.  After a short briefing by
Derek Priestley, racing got under way shortly after 10:00 under the
watchful eye of Bob Jolly as RO assisted by scorer Judith Baldwin.

The fleet raced as one on a course with two beats at a slightly
different angle to try and make the best of the shifty 5 to 10 knot
breeze.  Dave Burke was quick out of the blocks to win Race 1.  Derek
took wins in Races 2 and 3, with Dave then picking up Race 4.

This was followed by a short break for mulled wine and hot mince pies
and then resumed with Race 5 where it was the turn of Mick Chamberlain
to take the win, followed by Jen Hand picking up Races 6 and 7 by a good
margin from the rest of the field.  The final race (number 8) before
lunch provided yet another winner in the form of John Sharman.

After a quick break for lunch, John again showed the fleet a clean pair
of heels to win Race 9.  Race 10 then provided another new winner in the
form of Chris Chatfield, followed by the first win for Peter Baldwin in
Race 11.  Derek picked up Race 12 from Peter right on the finish line,
The final race which may have been unlucky for some was won by Peter as
a small compensation for narrowly missing out on Race 12.

When the final scores were added up, only one point separated the top
three, with John Sharman (Keighley) taking the win on countback from
Dave Burke (Lincoln) and Peter Baldwin (Birkenhead) in third just one
point behind them.

read more
Back To Top