skip to Main Content

Nick Slane – New IOM Measurer at Kinghorn

Steve Taylor (SD Senior Measurer) has advised that Nick Slane from the Kinghorn club has been approved as IOM Measurer. If anyone else is interested in this aspect of the sport and would like to become a measurer or indeed refresh old skills, please contact Steve. His details can be found on the SD Committee page of this website.

Steve has written a short welcoming note along with a few thoughts on the measuring process which is well worth reading. This can been viewed here as a pdf file (download file).

SD IOM Travellers 2 and District Championship 10 Aug 2019

Buchanness RYC hosted the above event with Ali Law as Race Officer on 10th August 2019. A pdf file of the report and results can be downloaded from the link below. A selection of photographs will be uploaded at a later date.

Congratulations go to Brian Summers (Tayside) sailing a BritPop, Richard Rowan (Greenock) second with a Cheinz and Stuart Teasdale (Kinghorn) sailing third with another BritPop.

SD IOM Traveller 2 and District Championship 10 Aug 2019 pdf

2019 SD IOM Travellers 2 and Scottish District IOM Championship – NOR

The Notice of Race (NOR) for the 2019 Scottish District (SD) IOM Travellers 2 and 2019 SD IOM Championship has been published and can be downloaded via the link below. The combined event will be hosted by Buchanness MYC at Forehill Reservoir, Peterhead on Saturday 10th August 2019.

Entry is open to all members of MYA Scottish District Clubs and to visiting members of other MYA Clubs who will be made most welcome.

NOR MYA-SD IOM T2 Buchanness (10 August 2019 rev 3)

Scotts of Greenock (IOM) Open – 18th May 2019

Many thanks go to the Greenock Club for hosting the event including the Race Officer Gordon Rae and his team. Despite the challenging wind conditions there was some very close and competitive sailing.

The main challenge throughout the day for the established local and across the border skippers was the “wind speed” stubbornly remaining between 0-4 mph throughout. Racing began with arguably the best of the wind during the morning session, concluding after 16 races in somewhat frustrating conditions. The results were:

    1. John Taylor 23 pts
    2. Robert Rooney 33 pts
    3. Damian Ackroyd 35 pts

A full report from John Taylor can be found here (pdf) and race results and photos are shown below.


Back To Top
×Close search