Michael Thomas

Recommendations please

Hi I am relatively new to radio sailing and currently have been sailing a DF 65 for about 12 months with varying degrees of success. I have come from big bot sailing.

The club to which I belong has a small fleet of IOM's and I am keen to move up. However there is a huge difference of opinion of what model is suitable for my needs so I thought I'd ask around.

The lake we sail on is in a depression with dense trees on both the north and western sides. Our control area is on the Eastern shore. Winds are generally light and variable with very little in the way of waves.

I am looking to improve my skills with a used boat with of price not exceeding £300 preferably in GRP. This is only for club racing I have no intention to go further at present.

I have an option on a Peter Wiles Krcar in need of some restoration but some members have indicated this is not a suitable model for our lake but what do I know.

Opinions would be welcome

Thanks Michael

Hi Michael,

Although not familiar with the Krcar, Peter Wiles is usually found at the top end of competition and his other designs are still very useful performers so I can see no reason why this design should not "be suitable for your lake"

£300 is not a huge budget so, in my opinion, good quality sails and mast in good condition with decent foils (fin and rudder), possibly together with a modern ballast are the most important considerations. These will contribute more than anything to performance, far more then the hull.  So if your boat ticks some , or all of these boxes then go for it.

With the above; most modern hulls and the Krcar is such, are quite capable of good competitive sailing.

Let the forum know what you decide, Michael.

Richard

Michael