Jump to content

Windward boat keep clear ISAF Case Book 60


Recommended Posts

Situation.

Wind speed gusting 18-25 knots.

Three boats approaching windward mark line abreast on stbd tack half a boat length between boats.

At ten boat lengths from the mark It is clear that the leeward boat is not going to be able to clear the mark without luffing.

But the wind is gusty and at times enables boats to be lifted up to ten degrees.

At two boat lengths from the mark the leeward boat luffs and hits both the immediate windward boat (IWB) and as a result also hits the mark.

The leeward boats luff is such that the IWB has no time to respond and would also be restricted in her ability to respond by the windward boat.

The race observer calls contact between the leeward boat and the IWB.

The leeward boat hails windward boat keep clear. The IWB calls for time and opportunity to keep clear.

The race observer hails contact further two times and the IWB does a penalty turn so to prevent a protest hearing.

Does ISAF Case Book 60 apply in this situation?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Malcolm,

I would not apply Case 60 to this. the diagram is quite different from your description. Case 114 Q1 is much better. Basically, Inside is entitled to mark room, and middle and windward must give room. If there is contact, Inside breaks R 11 and or R 31, but is exonerated by R 21. Middle may be exonerated under R 21 if she was unable to give room because Windward did not give room, and WIndward would be penalised for breaking R 18.2.b.

John

John Ball

IOM CAN 307 (V8)

In my private capacity

Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the replies. The diagram is close to the situation re leeward and immediate windward boat (iwb) but the windward boat has pulled out half a boat length and is starting to bear away around the mark and around the bows of the now two stationary boats.It all happened on the far side of the lake. The situation as described all happened so quickly, say three seconds, that the iwb initial reaction was let out sails to stop way to prevent hitting the now bearing away boat whose sail numbers were hidden. The contact made with the leeward boat was made a second or so after the iwb sails were eased.

The question now is: 'do the two windward boats have to ancipate the leeward boats luff', there was no call, and tack away, if they are able to, so to prevent this all to common incident.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Providing the leeward boat did not go beyond head to wind and gave the other 2 boats room and opportunity to keep clear yes they must give room, as it says in the rule book a call is not strictly speaking required but does always help to clarify the position.

Mike Ewart

Link to post
Share on other sites
but the windward boat has pulled out half a boat length and is starting to bear away around the mark .

 

This is the key to this situation - Windward breaks R 18.2.b. WIndward must wait until the inside mark room boats are clearing the mark. WIndward has to give room to both inside boats, including room for Middle to give room to Inside..

The inside boat does nothing wrong - no hail is required - and as R 18 applies, the obligation is on the outside boats to give room, and the inside boat does not have to give 'room and opportunity' (an obsolete phrase) to the others when she luffs (R 21 exonerates for breach of R 16).

John

John Ball

IOM CAN 307 (V8)

In my private capacity

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...