Sign in to follow this  
Vinnie Zammit

IOM Veteran Championships

There seems to be quite a strong roumour, that there are 3 clubs on the south coast that wish to put in a motion at the next AGM, that the minimum age for the IOM Veteran Championships be raised from the current 60 to 70.

I would be very interested in the view of our current elder sailors. Would you agree with the motion, or keep the current minimum age as it is?

I make no secret of the fact that i would be against the motion. As someone who has attended 7 of the last championships, 6 as a competitor and 1 as a PRO, i find it hard to believe that our over 70 years of age sailors would be willing to travel a long distance to the event.

I am not sure what has spurred the clubs to think about the motion, could it be the large entry at Eastbourne this year or the fact that most of the front sailors there were under 70 years of age.

The Vets Championship next year is at one of our Northern District clubs. Would those 70+ year old sailors who attended Eastbourne this year, travel North next year, if the motion were carried. Personally i do not think so and the entry would be down.

Currently, the attendance at the Veteran Championships is good, which helps make it one of the best events of the year.

If entries diminish, i can see the event ending up as part of the National Championships, with the trophy going to the first Veteran.

65,maybe. 70, no!

Your opinnions please.

To some degree I do understand the motivation for this. Not that I agree either and the concept is rather silly you must agree.

But we always seem to skirt around an issue rather than confront it full in the face as it were.

So let us bring a difference perspective to this –

• Is it truly appropriate for a reigning National Champion or a recent past national / World Champion to enter such an event?