Jump to content
John Ball

Over Early - What NOT to do

Recommended Posts

I saw this incident in the IOM video from France - site of the upcoming IOM Worlds. Watch the left side of the screen for the Yellow boat, sail number 07. He is called over early, but does not handle the situation well - he fouls at least three boats when he bears away to return.

What we don't see are any penalty turns - not only does he have to return to restart, he should do at least three penalty turns for three separate incidents of hitting leeward boats, breaking R 11 and R 22.


I made up a couple of diagrams - not exactly like the incident but close - the point is that if you are called over early and need to return to restart, it is better to luff your sails to slow down, and then luff up slowly, and once clear tack to return. While you slow down and luff, you are still sailing the course with all the normal rights and other boats behind (R 12) and to weather (R 11) must stay clear of you. When you want to tack, you are subject to R 13, so wait until clear. Only after you have borne away are you clearly returning to restart and become subject to R 22.

In the first diagram, Blue luffs sails to slow, then tacks behind Yellow before bearing away to restart. Luffing and tacking also puts you out clear so that you can go around the end of the pin if the I Flag R 30.1 is in effect.

1357338594_Overearly-recallluffingGOOD.thumb.jpg.2cefabe2788d4cc63b7a4b277db3dcbc.jpg

 

In the other diagram, Blue bears away and fouls Green and Red and needs to do two penalty turns as well as returning to restart.

478082205_Overearly-recallbearawayBAD.thumb.jpg.853f14e001901026b23794cd202bce39.jpg

 

The messages here are first - DON'T PANIC. Second - it is better to luff your sails and slow down, Third - going back to restart is only to correct being over early, it does not absolve you for any penalties that you may cause while returning.

John


John Ball

IOM CAN 307 (V8)

In my private capacity

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
On 20/04/2017 at 12:39, John Ball said:

I saw this incident in the IOM video from France - site of the upcoming IOM Worlds. Watch the left side of the screen for the Yellow boat, sail number 07. He is called over early, but does not handle the situation well - he fouls at least three boats when he bears away to return.

What we don't see are any penalty turns - not only does he have to return to restart, he should do at least three penalty turns for three separate incidents of hitting leeward boats, breaking R 11 and R 22.

 

 

I made up a couple of diagrams - not exactly like the incident but close - the point is that if you are called over early and need to return to restart, it is better to luff your sails to slow down, and then luff up slowly, and once clear tack to return. While you slow down and luff, you are still sailing the course with all the normal rights and other boats behind (R 12) and to weather (R 11) must stay clear of you. When you want to tack, you are subject to R 13, so wait until clear. Only after you have borne away are you clearly returning to restart and become subject to R 22.

 

In the first diagram, Blue luffs sails to slow, then tacks behind Yellow before bearing away to restart. Luffing and tacking also puts you out clear so that you can go around the end of the pin if the I Flag R 30.1 is in effect.

1357338594_Overearly-recallluffingGOOD.thumb.jpg.2cefabe2788d4cc63b7a4b277db3dcbc.jpg

 

In the other diagram, Blue bears away and fouls Green and Red and needs to do two penalty turns as well as returning to restart.

478082205_Overearly-recallbearawayBAD.thumb.jpg.853f14e001901026b23794cd202bce39.jpg

 

The messages here are first - DON'T PANIC. Second - it is better to luff your sails and slow down, Third - going back to restart is only to correct being over early, it does not absolve you for any penalties that you may cause while returning.

John

   John

 I think  disastrous penalty turns combined with damage is about the same as sending the guy  ( what if he is the commodore )home  in discrace in front of every body.  

We can do better than that

Most humiliating to say the least. I would also call that a" double dip " punishment .

Our boat don't have brakes as you know, there are some things in sailing for which we have no control ,say, if you are boxed in .

 It would be far better to award penalty points  for every infraction say Fleet +3   in this case and no body would be the wiser, the race would carry on in the best of harmony we don't do keel hauling , flogging or walking the plank any more penalty turns are not a fair solution to solve the  our race course problems we have to be fair and treat every one fairly , after all ,many are our very best friends.

  I know things can get heated. I have seen a row  that lasted and lasted it almost became violent between two competitors who started an argument,( my wife was scoring at the time). The two guys were loudly cursing one another regarding " Proper Course" there were lots of spectators  for the " Charlie Harris  dec'd   fair sailing trophy"  after it was over he came over to me and said  " Shall I go home " after I calmly explained the rule . I told him to go and apologize to the other .

John that event shook me and many others to the bone, John we need to bring some civility back to Model  Yachting .The last thing we want is making an enemy of one another over , complicated rules can do that. I will say this till am blue in the face " It is just a game, it will always be a game".

Edited by Donald Cave
minor one word additions

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...