Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
hawktastic

Finishing on the run

Recommended Posts

I was about 8 boatlenghts behind a finishing boat that was about 10 boatlenghts from the finish and we were both on a run.the wind (light)filled from behind doubling my speed and at about 6 boatlenghts from the line, as I was overlapping the leeward running boat, he luffed up by around 45% degrees for around 2 boatlenghts and then headed back to the line(now about 2 lengths away).this was enough to stall me and lose my overtake which was inevitable.was his manoeuvre allowed(did think it was clever).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It sounds like you may be touching on two points. First, if you were both on the same gybe, when he altered course, he has to give you room to keep clear - R 16.1. As weather boat, you were required to keep clear (R11 W/L). From your description, you were able to keep clear - so no rule broken by either boat.


Next if there was a mark involved, he bore way just before he reached the zone to break any overlap - so he gains mark room.


John


John Ball

IOM CAN 307 (V8)

In my private capacity

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...