15 Skippers brought their radio Marbleheads to Abbey Meads lake for the Met & Southern District Ranking Event, sailing for the Acorn Trophy and the second GAMES round of 2012 in bright sunshine and un-seasonal warmth.


The forecast Easterly light winds materialised as light NE’ly forcing a course realignment. The course was a simple windward leeward with an offset spreader mark after the windward mark and a leeward gate. The start and finish line halfway up the 150 metre course with two rounds. The morning saw big shifts, at times from SE to N gave Hugh McAdoo, the PRO, some problems setting a fair start line. The last few races before lunch saw the wind back to the north, which made a very reaching course, but with enough shifts to the east to make tactics difficult for the skippers and a bit of a nightmare for the race management team. The results reflected the unpredictability of the conditions with 7 different winners.

The racing up to lunch time was dominated by Peter Popham sailing his Starkers 3 with a short 550mm keel, finishing 11 points ahead of Roger Stollery sailing his new Crazy Tube Free and Martin Crysell with a Rok, tied on 28.

The afternoon racing saw the wind veer back to a more Easterly direction and stayed light with some gusts up to 7 mph. Races 11 and 14 saw Alan Viney and John Shorrock win for the first time at this level of competition, abbeit both were involved in a protest in Race 14, which Alan lost. After a short break for the protest hearing, the last race started just before the 1600hrs cut off to complete 15 races for the day. The race results in the afternoon saw no individual skipper dominate, but Peter and Roger continued to produce solid results, with Roger gradually pulling back Peter’s lead to end up level on points and win on countback with 4 wins with Martin Crysell in third place, somewhat adrift on points.

1st Roger Stollery Crazy Tube Free 39
2nd Peter Popham Starters 3 39
3rd Martin Crysell Rok 48
4th Roy Stevens Prime Number 55
5th Alan Viney Prime Number


Current RM Ranking List HERE

© Copyright 2020. The Model Yachting Association UK | Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?