The Syan Award recognises the outstanding contribution to model yachting by an individual or group and is nominated by clubs and districts, with the judging panel being made up of the MYA President and two Vice Presidents.

This award is usually given to those who have dedicated thousands of hours to assisting in the sport, quite often unseen by the general membership but valuable work none the less; and this years recipient is the epitome of this, someone who a large percentage of the membership will have spoken to, emailed or written to, and many will know and recognise but equally some will just know him as a name and not connect the No 11 IOM with the role he undertakes. It is however pretty certain that most have contacted him over the last 9 years!

The 2016 Syan Award was presented to the retiring IOM Registrar Dave Stewart of the Ashton Quays RYC.

Dave Stewart (L) receives the 2016 Syan Award from Derek Priestley

The judges agreed that the dedicated and efficient manner in which Dave performed this task over many years has helped the IOM fleet and sport in its continued growth and that he was a popular and deserving winner of the 2016 Syan Award.

Well done Dave.

© Copyright 2021. The Model Yachting Association UK | Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?