Brad Gibson – 2016 Chris Dicks Awards Winner.

2016 has seen the recipient of the Chris Dicks Award dominate the Radio Sailing scene domestically and internationally with his own designed and built boats and rigs.

The Chris Dicks award was created to recognise good design at all levels of the sport whether it be a fitting or a complete boat, the winner will have contributed significantly to the sport or class of their interest.

Brad will need no introduction to the MYA members as a previous winner of this award for his Britpop! IOM; however we suspect that the Marblehead design for which he won the 2016 Chris Dicks Award will probably give him as much satisfaction, if not more….

A fan of the Marblehead from a young age Brad used his knowledge and experience to create his latest Grunge design of Marblehead, a boat which since inception and in the hands of Brad remains unbeaten in all events since its 1st event at the MYA Nationals at Fleetwood in 2012.

Brad has used the “Grunge” to win the UK M Nationals in 2012,13,14,15,16 and the World Championships in 2012, 2014 and 2016. A truly remarkable achievement in a class with great scope to develop and refine designs quickly.

Well Done to Brad Gibson, 2016 Chris Dicks Award Winner

MYA Technical Officer distributed the image below from the 2016 M Nationals to illustrate the advancement that the Grunge has brought to the class!

Martin Roberts of the Birkenhead RS & PC accepted the award on Brad’s behalf.

© Copyright 2020. The Model Yachting Association UK | Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy

Have questions? Search our knowledgebase.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?